We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Abbeville Football Team History

Abbeville Yellow Jackets
Abbeville High School

P.O. Box 519 Abbeville, AL 36310
Stadium: Memorial Stadium
Colors: Maroon, Gray & White
Coach: William Bill Ellis

Other Sports

Select Year:    
1921  <-- 1950 <- 1951 -> 1952 --> 2020

1951 Season Highlights
 William Bill Ellis enters his 3rd season as Head Coach at Abbeville.
 First 10 win season.
 First perfect season.
1951 Season
 Date   Opponent  Score   
 Fri., Sep. 21  @ Geneva County    27   0   W       
 Fri., Sep. 28  @ Slocomb    19   6   W       
 Fri., Oct. 5  vs. Pike County    61   12   W       
 Fri., Oct. 12  @ Headland    53   7   W       
 Fri., Oct. 19  vs. Clayton    59   19   W       
 Fri., Oct. 26  vs. Louisville    48   7   W       
 Fri., Nov. 2  @ Cottonwood    32   13   W       
 Fri., Nov. 9  @ Newville    69   7   W       
 Fri., Nov. 16  vs. Houston County    35   6   W       
    Samson    44   22   W    Dothan   
1951 Season Totals
  Points Scored447
  Scoring Average44.7
  Points Allowed99
  Defense Average9.9
  Opponents Record37-54 -5
  Home Record4-0
  Away Record5-0
1951 Class  Rankings
 Date   Week   Rank   Record   Votes   Source 
 Abbeville was not ranked.

1951 Player Awards
 Player   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Award   Team   Source 
 Raymond Burke HB Sr. All-Star Game  

1951 All State Players
 Player   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Team   Source 
 BartonB HM  MA
 Fred TyeE 2nd  BN
 HamC HM  MA
 HerringG HM  MA
 KirklandB HM  MA
 TyeE HM  MA
 William BurkeB Sr.175 1st  BN
 William BurkeB 1st  MA

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Hazlewood won an amazing seventeen consecutive region championships from 1986-2002.