We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Murphy Football Team History

Murphy Panthers
Murphy High School

100 S. Carlen St. Mobile, AL 36606
Stadium: Ladd-Peebles Stadium
Colors: Blue & Gold
Coach: C.D. Anderson

Other Sports

Select Year:    
1926  <-- 1965 <- 1966 -> 1967 --> 2020

1966 Season Highlights
 C.D. Anderson enters his 4th season as Head Coach at Murphy.
 The Panthers set a team record for margin in a defeat by allowing 57 points.
1966 Season
 Date   Opponent  Score   
 Fri., Sep. 16   Davidson    21   13   W       
 Fri., Sep. 23   UMS    7   14   L       
 Thu., Sep. 29  vs. B.C. Rain    35   0   W       
 Fri., Oct. 7  vs. Vigor    6   17   L       
 Fri., Oct. 14  OPEN 
 Thu., Oct. 20  vs. Sidney Lanier    0   57   L       
 Fri., Oct. 28   McGill-Toolen    13   20   L       
 Fri., Nov. 4  @ Biloxi MS    6   26   L       
 Fri., Nov. 11  vs. Pensacola FL    7   30   L       
 Fri., Nov. 18  OPEN 
1966 Season Totals
  Points Scored95
  Scoring Average11.9
  Points Allowed177
  Defense Average22.1
  Opponents Record37-19 -6
  Home Record1-3
  Away Record0-1
1966 Class 4A Rankings
 Date   Week   Rank   Record   Votes   Source 
9/21/19663 11(1-0)74 AHSAA

1966 Player Awards
 Player   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Award   Team   Source 
 Gene Lindsey C Sr.6-0190 All-Star Game  

1966 All State Players
 Player   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Team   Source 
 Don KellyE HM  BN
 Don KellyE HM  BPH
 Gene LindseyLB Sr.185 1st  BPH
 Gene LindseyC Sr.195 2nd  BN
 Gene LindseyC 2nd  MA
 Mike FitzhughB HM  BPH
 Terry PageB HM  BPH

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Robby James has won nine AISA State Championships during his career at Catherine Academy, Morgan Academy and Marengo Academy.