We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Emma Sansom Football Team History

Emma Sansom Rebels
Emma Sansom High School

2210 W. Meighan Blvd. Gadsden, AL 35904
Stadium: Murphree Stadium
Colors: Purple & Gold
Coach: Claud E. Chamblee

Other Sports

Select Year:    
1930  <-- 1935 <- 1936 -> 1937 --> 2005

1936 Season Highlights
 Claud E. Chamblee enters his 2nd season as Head Coach at Emma Sansom.
 First undefeated season.
1936 Season
 Date   Opponent  Score   
 Sun., Sep. 27  vs. Cherokee County    13   0   W       
 Thu., Oct. 1  vs. Snead Jr. College    6   6   T       
 Sat., Oct. 3  @ Crossville    32   0   W       
 Sat., Oct. 10  vs. Southside Gadsden    12   0   W       
 Fri., Oct. 23  @ Gadsden    6   0   W       
 Fri., Oct. 30  vs. Etowah    25   0   W       
 Sat., Nov. 7  vs. Walnut Grove    49   0   W       
 Thu., Nov. 12  vs. Glencoe    12   0   W       
 Wed., Nov. 25  vs. Piedmont    25   13   W       
1936 Season Totals
  Record8-0 -1
  Points Scored180
  Scoring Average20.0
  Points Allowed19
  Defense Average2.1
  Opponents Record32-32 -7
  Home Record6-0 -1
  Away Record2-0
1936 Class  Rankings
 Date   Week   Rank   Record   Votes   Source 
 Emma Sansom was not ranked.

1936 Player Awards
 Player   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Award   Team   Source 
 No Emma Sansom Players on File.

1936 All State Players
 Player   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt.   Team   Source 
 AllisonG HM  BN
 GriffinT HM  BN
 HiltonG HM  BN
 MandersonHB HM  BN
 MandersonFB HM  BN
 MarganHB 3rd  BN
 MorganHB HM  MA
 Pat GallagherC 5-10180 1st  BN
 Pat GallagherC HM  MA

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Hazlewood won five consecutive state championships from 1988-1992. During this span the Golden Bears won 29 playoff games in a row.