We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama All-Star Game


      The White-clad South All-Stars providing power up the middle with a more than effective passing game came through and posted a 20-14 win over the North in the 15th Annual Alabama All-Star Game before 14,000 fans.

      Sidney Lanier quarterback Ashby Cook, given a brace of versatile backs and sturdy interior linemen, directed all three South scoring drives and walked off with Most Valuable Back honors for the South.

      The North signal-caller, Jimmy Mitchell of Decatur, was named Most Valuable Back for the Yanks. The South win put the Rebels ahead in the series at 7 wins - 6 losses and 2 ties.

      Heading up the North coaching staff was John Morgan, Fayette, who was ably assisted by Bill Isbell, Decatur High; L. C. Fowler, Pickens County; G. B. Beasley, Cherokee County; and Herman L. Crider, Jr., Oakman. Directing the South, Bobby Wilson of Sidney Lanier had as his assistants James R. Allen, Monroe County; Allen Treadwell, Pike County; T. C. Britton, Jr., Smiths Station; and Claude V. Saia, John Carroll of Birmingham.

 North Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
 Truman Anderson  Lineville T5-11 190Sr.  
 Dickie Bean  Childersburg HB6-0 180Sr.  Alabama
 Bill Belue  Coffee T6-2 220Sr.  Auburn
 Russell Cheatham  Haleyville T6-1 215Sr.  Auburn
 John Cochran  Crossville FB6-1 200Sr.  Auburn
 Carl Fields  Albertville T 235Sr.  Alabama
 Joe Haynie  Emma Sansom QB6-0 165Sr.  
 Bill Henderson.  Cleveland E6-2 195Sr.  Tennessee
 Ray Hester  Phil Campbell E6-2 185Sr.  Florence State
 Jim Ingle  Ensley E6-1 190Sr.  Auburn
 Jim Kirkland  Oneonta HB5-10 185Sr.  Marion Military
 Larry Lackey  B.B. Comer HB6-1 190Sr.  Alabama
 Frank Layton  Leeds E6-2 198Sr.  Auburn
 Don Lewis  Decatur FB6-1 185Sr.  Auburn
 Ted Lewis  Aliceville QB5-11 172Sr.  Marion Military
 John Mann  Cherokee County G5-11 187Sr.  Jacksonville State
 Jimmy Mitchell  Decatur QB6-1 175Sr.  Alabama
 Terry Mitchell  Deshler G5-11 200Sr.  
 Gary Ray  Sylacauga HB5-11 195Sr.  Alabama
 James Richards  Cullman C6-2 187Sr.  St. Bernard
 Carter Roberts  McAdory T6-5 205Sr.  Auburn
 Larry Sinquefield  Ensley FB5-9 165Sr.  Auburn
 Harold Steely  Anniston G6-0 195Sr.  Georgia
 James Stone  Russellville T6-0 215Sr.  
 Mike Stripling  Fayette County HB6-0 170Sr.  
 Wayne Treece  Scottsboro FB6-2 210Sr.  Alabama
 Woodrow Troope  Crossville C6-0 190Sr.  Alabama
 Clifford Winefordner  Deshler G6-0 195Sr.  Vanderbilt

 South Roster 
 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
 Mack Brown  Georgiana E6-1 175Sr.  
 Jimmy Carroll  Enterprise C6-2 190Sr.  Alabama
 Wayne Coleman  Vigor QB6-3 188Sr.  Mississippi State
 Ashley Cook  Sidney Lanier QB5-10 170Sr.  Mississippi State
 Russell Cutcliff  John Carroll E5-11 175Sr.  Villanova
 Phil Dabbs  Bessemer C6-0 215Sr.  Alabama
 Anthony DeMarlo  Foley HB5-7 165Sr.  Georgia Tech
 Jimmy Foshee.  Dadeville G5-9 185Sr.  
 Cecil Foster  Lee Montgomery G5-11 210Sr.  Auburn
 Bill Lee  Eutaw T6-5 225Sr.  Alabama
 Robert Lloyd  Monroe County G5-11 195Sr.  
 Glenn McLendon  Pike County HB5-11 170Sr.  Troy State
 Harold Mesaris  Sidney Lanier C6-0 197Sr.  Mississippi State
 Bogue Miller  Benjamin Russell HB6-1 192Sr.  Auburn
 Floyd Newman  Reeltown FB6-0 180Sr.  
 Terry Owens  Samson T6-5 215Sr.  Alabama
 David Ray  Central Phenix City OL6-1 195Sr.  Alabama
 J.B. Schilleci  John Carroll HB5-6 175Sr.  Auburn
 Jim Scott  Sidney Lanier FB6-0 200Sr.  Alabama
 Bill Sharpe  UMS-Wright E6-0 188Sr.  Clemson
 Lynwood Strickland  Benjamin Russell E6-0 185Sr.  Alabama
 Carl Underwood  Rehobeth FB6-0 185Sr.  Alabama
 Joel White  Banks T6-1 194Sr.  Alabama
  Sam Williams  Monroe County HB 170Sr.  
 Evan Wilson  Thomasville E6-3 205Sr.  Auburn
 Jerry Wooten  Geneva G6-1 195Sr.  Florida State
 Jimmy Wyatt  Tuscaloosa T6-0 220Sr.  Vanderbilt

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

From 1947 until his retirement in 1992 Glenn Daniel's teams won 302 games at Pine Hill and Luverne. He was the winningest coach in state history until 2010.